General

Visits from the Candy Mafia

trick or treat halloween themed illustration
Photo by rawpixel.com on Pexels.com

Two weeks ago, I was outside on my porch enjoying the cooler weather and probably playing games on my iPad. The kids in this area of my apartment complex were playing and I was naturally tuning them out because they were enjoying the weather as well.

One of the kids is one that lives right below me and is the ringleader for the rest, She has a motorized BMW and practically runs over the rest of the kids that chase her around. She stops in front of my stairs and yells, “Hey! You gonna have any candy?”

I wasn’t planning to buy any candy because I’m like the Halloween Grinch and don’t feel like being bothered with passing out candy, let alone having any candy in my home. Reluctantly I answered that I would and the kids went back to dodging the Mob Boss in her BMW.

So Halloween is here and I have my bag of candy. I’m on the front porch with the bag, my iPad and pink and blue hair waiting for the Candy Mafia to come and they don’t show up! I ate one of every piece of candy while I waited because naturally, I bought the kind of candy I liked. Still no kids. Fine. Whatever. I’m going to take a shower and wash my hair.

As I’m watching what looks like the remnants of cotton candy wash down the drain, I was thinking about when I would trick or treat as a kid. We would go out in some homemade costume we HAD to have with a pillowcase in hope that I came home with a stash that I could trade with my brother and sister. Now I guess no one goes to houses as much and goes to churches or the mall for their candy. That was never an option when I was little. Or if it was, we didn’t know about it.

How was your Halloween? Did you get lots of visitors?

 

Leave a comment